A Hotpot with a difference

Hotpot

Hotpot

After a hard day’s work and making your way home in the cold, a hearty meal is often what you crave.

My mother’s tried and tested hotpot recipe with a twist is just what you need. It’s one of my favourite recipes and when I make it for guests it makes a fantastic impression yet, it’s incredibly easy to make.

Over the years, I have changed elements of my mother’s recipe according to my preference and made the recipe my own.

The hotpot is made with beef rather than lamb and the twist is that it is a little bit Italian.

Here is the recipe:

What you need

2 carrots

1 white onion

Sunflower oil

2lb minced beef

Tbsp flour

3-4 tbsp of tomato purée

1 tin of chopped tomatoes

Basil/oregano or mixed herbs

Beef stock or red wine

Potatoes

Red onion

Method

Cut the carrots into circles and dice the white onion.

Fry the carrots and onion in oil for a few minutes.

Add the mince and stir until browned.

Add the tomato purée and tin of tomatoes.

Add the herbs.

Add the flour.

Add either the stock mixed with water or a dash of red wine to make a thick sauce.

Put the mixture in a casserole dish.

Potato variation 1: boil potatoes and mash with butter, spoon on the top of the casserole.

Potato variation 2: boil potatoes and mash with butter, fry some red onion and caramelise with sugar. Mix the onions into the mashed potato. Spoon the potatoes onto the casserole.

Potato variation 3: boil potatoes. Slice finely and arrange on the top of the casserole.

Top the casserole with grated cheese and cook in the oven at 180c for 40-45 minutes.

Serve with vegetables, I personally like to accompany the dish with some honey glazed parsnips.

Enjoy!

satisfied guests

About atasteofcumbria

I am a real foody! I have a great passion for food. I am obsessed with collecting new recipes to try out and experimenting with my own recipes. I enjoy visiting restaurants and critiquing my dining experiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment